Speech freedom is important for free society. Do you agree ar disagree?

One of the widely discussed issues nowadays is the role of free speech in a free society. This debate often happens among various political groups and most of them advocate that all opinious should be considered even the extreme ones. Whilist I believe that freedom of speech is necessary for a good-functioning society and we need to protect by all costs. While it is well known that the freedom of speech is important at all levels in a society. Yet it is important for the government. A government which does not have a connection and sense of trust from common folk is destined for demise, because there should be a transparency in all layers of the government. For example, a lot of dictatorships in the middle east have experienced similar things, and one of them is Iran, where people started to rebel against the current state because they were trying to confine opposing politicians and it led to their eventual demise. Similar things are happening all over the world. Furthermore, without free speech people cannot express their political views that oppose the ideology of the goverment meaning that most of human rights will be violated. Also, people cannot resist injustices that happen among the elites and they will be exterminated if they dare to oppose. One of such cases is the protest in Zhanaozen that happened in Kazakhstan because of low wages. People were furious of it, so that they tried to protest where they were killed, but that injustice has led to the uprising that has lead to everthrow of the government. In conclusion, I believe that freedom of speech is a basic and necessary human right that should not be violated. It may be hard to admit, but the violation of it will be disastrous in the long-term