Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In school, learning English is usually perceived as more essential than learning local languages. Endangered local languages will have many impacts if we are not taught them. I believe that local languages are as essential as English. English is a global language, and local languages are cultures which must still exist. Nowadays, English is an international language,so everyone should improve their English skills to communicate. It has been used in academic journals, electronic devices (phones, TVs, and earphones), medication tools, and so on. Moreover, if we expand our English, we will obtain a wide range of knowledge. For instance, having adequate skills in English provides an opportunity to get a scholarship. Several foreign governments offer scholarships, like AAS and Fullbright. On the other hand, we must be aware of the existence of local languages, so we should preserve the languages in the curriculum of school, such as so that students can learn about cultures and local languages from the subject or extracurricular of school. Furthermore, the government should contribute to the socialisation of local languages in public facilities. For example, in Jogja Province, they use multilanguage (Indonesian, Javanese, and English) to share information about schedules at the airport and the station train. This raises the awareness of the community regarding the importance of preserving local languages. In conclusion, I believe not only English languages should be studied to improve our knowledge and get beneficial experience, but also local languages are one of the essential cultures that must be kept in the future.