The internet is viewed an excellent means of communication by many.However, there are some who would argue that it is actually destroying our communication skills . Discuss both views and give your opinion

The internet is considered by the majority of people as a vital channel for relying information but others claim that it is worsening our communication capabilities. In my opinion, I contend that human interactions have been made easier although our face to face communication skills have been compromised. On the one hand, the ability of people to express themselves in a one on one gathering has been affected unlike in the past where employees would converge in the boardroom to discuss matters. This way, they would pay close attention on how they present themselves verbally and non-verbally this mastering the art of addressing a crowd of people. For example, during the interschool debates, students argue their view points at the podium and this not only boosts their public speaking skill but also builds their stage confidence and the ability to express their minds. On the other hand, the number of physical meetings have declined since the birth of internet. This is because everything in this current age and time is digitalized and somebody can run their operations at the comfort of their beds in pyjamas. In this digital era, students are studying from home so long as their computers have a good internet connectivity. Similarly, tutors can also administer their lectures over platforms such as the Zoom or Teams. For instance, during the corona period, learning took places online thus enhancing the continuity of education. Apart from making connections easier and faster, the internet has also saved time, energy and resources. In conclusion, the internet is an important medium of communication in this current generation due to the speed and flexibility it provides. However, it has also led to poor communication skills among people which is a negative impact to the society at large.