Many High Street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

There are 2 main factors becoming the reason of above market trend: (1) Covid-19 & (2) Rapid Growth of Online Shopping behaviour. In the recent years, pandemic has huge impact on most of businesses, including High Street Shops. Customer behaviour has changed, Online Shopping become the only option as the lock down policy implementation in most of the countries. Online Shopping attracts both old & new generation to move from traditional retail shops. It offers lower & discount price. It brings simplicity in term of customer journey, whereby customer does not have to travel for obtaining the goods they want. This is the new the era of Shopping. High Street shops required to adapt, whereby they need to expand their business to focus on the Online Shopping instead of focusing only to traditional retail shop. In the other hand, government should support by making the policy to give fair outcome both for traditional and Online shopping. In conclusion, it is indeed positive development if High Street Shops & Government can adapt with above recommendation and becoming negative development if one of the parties (e.g. High Street Shops) does not want to adapt with these new era of Shopping.