Many people nowadays spend a large of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many people's screen time is really high, which is inherently for the young generation. It seems to me that the main reason for that is that all human beings can be put on smartphones. Firstly, the phone is a resource to access information and numerous kinds of entertainment, such as social media, games and obviously, the Internet. This gadget facilitates remote work and flexibility, which gives you plentiful opportunities. Moreover, smartphones can be used, as devices for self-improvement or education. For instance, the relevant example from my personal experience is I used to do all my homework on my devices every day, even rarely can do the same thing now. Nevertheless, I have a plethora of online friendships at present, consequently I use social media, as a primary means of communication. On the other hand, smartphone is a huge distractor from real life and things, like face-to-face interactions or physical activities. It leads to a decrease in productivity, which consequences might be enormous. Besides, without attention, you will be procrastinating all the time. For example, the quarantine in 2020 led society to issues with motivation or wish to continue working and studying.