In some parts of the world people try to find out one's own family history. Why do people do this? Do you think it is a positive or negative?

More and more people are attempting to find out their family history in many parts of the world. This essay will examine the causes of this tendency. Personally, I think it is a positive development for a variety of reasons. There are a variety of different causes for this matter. To begin with, people want to research more information about the cultural roots of their family in the past. This means that some people have never heard from their parents about family history such as hometown, how many people, jobs and achievements. For example, last week I researched about Nguyen family and discovered that the Nguyen Dynasty, the last Feudal dynasty in Vietnam, existed for more than 143 years (1802-1945) with 13 generations of Nguyen kings. Another contributing cause to mention is that they want to save the traditional values of their ancestors. In fact, if we don't preserve something about our family traditions, the next generation won’t know who we are and the values and traditions disappear in the future. There are some reasons why I think people finding out about their family history is a positive development. Firstly, it can help their children understand the origin and culture of their ancestors. This is because in modern society people often forget about family values and when they research family history, they have a chance to connect with other family members. Secondly, they can be proud of achievements that is ancestor achieved in the past and their children can learn more from them. In conclusion, there are several reasons why a lot of people nowadays would like to explore their family history, which is mainly caused by the desire to maintain traditions. In my opinion, I completely think that it is a positive development because it helps young people care about family traditions.