It is better for students to live away from home while studying at university than to live with parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

University education plays a unique role in an individual's development, and some people therefore argue that living independently for the young is better than staying with their parents during the semester. From my perspective, I could not agree with this opinion any more, believing that it is a must for college students to live either alone or with their peers. It is true that there are some benefits for the young dwelling with their family. First of all, many college freshmen may face a great many difficulties and challenges when living away from home. For example, they have to spend time and effort learning how to manage money wisely, and how to clean the house, which consumes a great amount of time that can be used for relaxing and studying. Furthermore, living with parents can reduce expenses to a certain extent, say, rents, utility costs and so on, which therefore alleviates the extra financial burden for both individuals and families. Nevertheless, living independently is an essential route for college students, be it at present or in the future, which can not only offer them opportunities to gain some crucial skills, such as doing chores, financial literacy, etc., but also strengthen the bond and relationship of having roommates. For one thing, spoiled by parents and grandparents, lots of young people are largely reliant on others in making decisions or managing personal issues, which in turn will backfire if they are unable to handle those problems on their own as soon as possible. Living separately from their parents can help them hone those necessary skills so that they can fit into a new environment in future. For another, those young people living on campus or renting an apartment with peers can have more time to interact with others, thus improving their communication skills, which, in the long run, can exert favourable impacts, such as wider social connections, sufficient experience in dealing with counterparts and so on. In conclusion, we can see more positive influences for college students living away from their parents when studying at university, albeit with some potential downsides.