Governments should spend on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

While there are a lot of people who agree that the government should allocate its budget to railways, I disagree because I think roads are more efficient compared to railways. Roads can approach small areas and are easier to maintain. Plus, roads will also cost less in terms of construction. On the other hand, railways are less flexible because building them will cause high expenses and will take a long time. Building roads has a lot of advantages. Firstly, roads are easier to use for a lot of people. These days, almost everybody has a car. It could be more than one car for the average person in the city. Hence, in order to approach one location, roads are easier to use for these people. Secondly, roads can also approach small areas, for instance, villages and remote areas. Villages tend to have compact space. Thus, in order to go to these villages, using roads will be the best option. Roads are also easier to maintain since the heavy equipment that will be used to repair them is easier to procure. Finally, building roads will impact in less budget. It is due to the cheap raw materials and labor. On the contrary, constructing railways has several drawbacks. It is mainly because building railways will lead to high costs. The expense of building railways can be up to 50% higher compared to building roads. Another reason is that the raw materials for railways such as steel and rock are expensive. Also, the government must hire a reputable engineering consultant which will take a lot of money. Moreover, building railways will take a lot of time, which is up to 2 years longer compared to building roads. In conclusion, I think the government should allocate its budget more to roads compared to railways. It is because roads are easier to use, more flexible, and can impact on less budget for the government. On the other hand, railways are not preferred because they will lead to high expense and will take longer time to construct.