Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

An increasing number of people with health issues seek complementary medical treatments rather than mainstream medical therapy. In my point of view, this is a negative development which can raise types of illness in the community and impact the health institution. There are numerous non-conventional clinics operating illegally in the community these days due to the power of word of mouth. One serious problem that can arise from this condition is that many patients who have serious illness have more time to get their health back. Some cancer patients, for example, take non-conventional remedy by consuming herbal medicine instead of drugs from their doctor. They believe that the effect from those herbs will accelerate their recovery. However, as a result, cancer patients who are leaving their medication in hospitals seem to have a longer time to recover. Another issue is that many illegal medicines can increase significantly since the price is affordable. Nonetheless, people tend to put off the fact that some side effects may be gained by consuming those medicines. To illustrate, there are many alternative clinics in rural areas that sell their own medicine even though they do not have a legal certificate. Therefore, some diseases can be uplifted in society after consuming those medicines for a long time without any consultation with the doctors. In conclusion, although alternative medical treatments have become more popular in public, I firmly believe that those practices have a more deteriorating effect on the community. After a thorough analysis of this condition, it is clear that the government has to establish regulations related to permission for opening alternative clinics and monitoring drugs in society regularly.