Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Starting from previous centuries, the majority of states decided to explore new areas, not only through their territory but beyond it, such as the ocean or earth, for instance. These actions are debatable, as on the one hand, this economic resource could be spent on meeting citizen's needs or by improving towns' facilities. However, I'm concerned, that by exploring untouchable regions, states can find extra well-quality natural resources which in the future would elevate the country's economic level and thus improve the nation's life. I will begin with the most obvious example that we could think of: Israel. Only a few decades ago there was practically nothing there but just sand. What would it be if humans simply started to build castles from raw materials that have been seen, such as sand and earth? No exploration operations, no digging or wise theories, in that case, we would have never had a chance to see, such a well economically developed country. In addition, well-known state that experienced a drastic economic surge, by simply finding oil deposits. UAE is another quite good example of how exploration programs are needed and what results they could bring. My favourite quote '' Who don' t take a risk, won' t drink champagne'' The point here is that if we stay in our comfort zones and don' t even try to go somewhere beyond, we won' t reach anything and will eradicate ourselves as humans in the end. Sure, we can work with what was initially given to us or we can take a risk and try.