Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to have drivers tested every year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, road safety remains a paramount concern. Many people suggest that drivers should undergo a driving test every year. I partially agree with the suggestion, while the motive of the proposition is commendable, the practicality, effectiveness and potential implications should all be considered. On the one hand, the annual driving test is good for evaluating does a person is capable of remaining on the road. For instance, some elders don’t have the ability to drive on the road due to they are too old to learn the new traffic regulations. Also, with increasing age, an individual’s cognitive ability and nerve conduction velocity decline, as a result, everyone should be tested after they pass a certain age. On the other hand, there are multiple reasons that show that regular tests aren’t practical. Firstly, labour costs will become a financial burden to the government. Secondly, the effectiveness is doubted for the reason that the accidents normally happen when the vehicle owners were over speed or don’t follow the traffic rules rather than lack of driving skill. Thirdly, the residents will be mad at the authorities for wasting their time, don’t even mention that if the quiz costs their money. Moreover, fairness is essential to think of. Subjecting all the people to a yearly test could be seen as an overgeneralization. For example, why should a diligent driver, with decades of accident-free history need to take the test as frequently as a driver who is new or previously reckless? In conclusion, while the aim of testing drivers annually is to improve road safety, there are still many aspects that need to be a concern. Hence, balancing security and practicality is really important.