Nowadays many people prefer to study or live in foreign countries. While studying and living abroad brings many benefits to individuals, it also has a number of disadvantages. What are the advantages and disadvantages of leaving your country to live or study abroad? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Most people are interested to go abroad for study or improving their lifestyles, however, even though there are lots of benefits to migration but it has some downfall also there. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of immigration. Firstly, international student or people who live abroad get many benefits during their stay. Whereas, people like to go there for many reasons such as, to obtain high standard education, get foreign experience and high paid jobs compared to their own country. According to my experience my job which is Software Engineering has high demand and a high pay scale in the USA, Canada and Australia. Therefore, immigration provides several benefits to people from third-world countries and makes them move to developed countries. However, even have many advantages in migration, the people need to sacrify lots of things as well. For example, after left their family and home, need to adapt to a different culture and must fluent in foreign languages are not an easy thing. For example, I have left my family to study in Canada and when there is an emergency at home I am unable to go there on time since I'm thousands of miles away from them. When looking at the culture and language as a Sri Lankan I have grown up with rich culture and beliefs, but it's difficult to follow a foreign country and need to adapt to a new culture. Therefore, living or studying in foreign country has several difficulties as well. To summarize, even though there are lots of advantages when living or studying in another country we have to face several difficulties in order to live there as well.