Serious violent crimes among people who are under 18 are becoming more common. Some people think that children who commit serious crimes should be treated like like adults,while others would say they should be rehabilitated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Major violence offences are being carried out by children more often. While some would argue that they should get the same treatment as as grown-ups because this would ensure that the victims are given justice, I believe that they are not old enough to understand what they are doing, and rehabilitation is a better option. On the one hand, treating underaged criminals like they are full-grown adults gives victims justice. Someone who has lost a loved one or obtained a disabling injury would prefer to witness the offender being sentenced to prison regardless of age. The damage is caused and cannot be reversed. For example, recently two high school students sexually assaulted a junior school mate and the victim together with her family was only left assured after the judge gave the verdict to sentence them with imprisonment. However, I believe that a criminal's age should be taken into consideration because they are not mature enough to understand better. On the other hand, it is thought that children who carry out acts of violence are not aware of their actions and are often misled by their wrong upbringings. A young child does not know, to the same degree as adults, that their violent actions will result in death or life threatening injuries. This is why young murderers in the United Kingdom are rehabilitated and given new identities so that they can live a normal adult life outside of prison. I believe that this is a preferable option because it helps the youngster reform and ensures that they do not continue those serious crimes again. In conclusion, although sending young criminals to prisons gives victims some justice and grievances, the criminals themselves should also be seen as victims as they were not capable of understanding the extent of their actions. Hence, trying to assist them in becoming a model citizen again is a more appropriate option