Some experts in road safety say that all cyclists should pass a test before riding a bicycle on the public road. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is pointed out by some experts specializing in road safety that one should obtain a license before riding a bike in public areas. While some may argue otherwise, I believe that passing a test is necessary because this could heighten the awareness of traffic rules and lead to the reduction in the number of traffic accidents. Some may argue that requiring all cyclists to pass an exam is not necessary, claiming that bikes are simple to use. Unlike other vehicles, such as private cars and buses, bikes can be used even by children who are as young as three. Considering how simple it is to use bikes, it seems illogical to demand people study for the test. Moreover, if such measures were to be implemented, some people would be deprived of their means of transportation. Studying for the exam and going to a test center would take weeks, or possibly months. Such a time-consuming process cannot be fit in today's busy people's schedule. Nevertheless, I believe that people should pass a test before riding a bike to make sure that cyclists are aware of the traffic rules. Some cyclists do not observe traffic rules, nor are they aware of them, as riding a bike has been a part of their life ever since they were little. Small children are incapable of understanding traffic rules, and generally grow into adulthood without learning about them. Furthermore, requiring a bike license can ensure road safety. As indicated by recent research, nearly 30% of the traffic accidents can be attributed to inappropriate use of bikes. Those who caused an accident often rode a bike on a pedestrian street, or went against the red light. In conclusion, although some people argue that bikes are not as complicated to use, and people would possibly lose their way to get around, I firmly believe that making it mandatory to pass an exam to ride a bike is essential, in order to raise the awareness of traffic rules and reduce the number of traffic accidents.