Some believe children should be taught to give speeches and presentations in school. Why is this? What other skills do you think it is important to be taught in schools?

It is argued that lessons on public speaking and preparing visual aids should be included in academic programmes at school. One of the main reasons is to ensure that children develop an essential skill to communicate effectively in their future jobs. In addition to this, I am of the opinion that skills such as foreign language or computer coding plays an equally important role for the same reason and hence should be added to their routine lessons. Being able to give speeches and presentations helps children become avid communicators in their future career. When preparing themselves for a speech, students have to outline many ideas and arrange their thought process. Additionally, they are required to understand target audiences so that they could develop different visual tools to present about their chosen topic. As a result, children will be equipped with a useful skill set that many companies prefer in their potential job candidiates. For example, consulting company like PwC would request business case presentations from applicants and only those who can proficiently discuss about those cases get higher chances of being recruited. Likewise, I belive that mastering other skills such as computer coding or foreign language open many career opportunities for students. Information technology is becoming more and more included in our daily lives and artificial intelligence solutions are booming. If children learn computer programming from secondary education facility, they will be more interested in taking up computer science subjects in universities and graduate with a profession that is in high demand. Furthermore,if a person can speak second language, jobs that need bilingual person will be a right fit. For example, students from the United States who can speak French could get internship placements in the United Nations more that those who do not understand the official language of such organisation. In conclusion, teaching children to effectively articulate own ideas through presentations and speeches could prepare them for their future jobs and likewise other skills such as new language or computer coding can lead those childern to have better chances of being hired.