It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal life. Does the advantages outweighs the disadvantages.

It is often believed that taking risks may be beneficial to people in their professional as well as personal lives. Although this is not always advantageous, the ability of an individual to take the right chances at the right moments may significantly determine their life trajectory. In this essay, I will weigh the pros against the cons of such a belief system. To start with, history is filled with stories of people who have chosen to take risks. For instance, Sir Alex Ferguson, who was the manager of the football club Manchester United between 1989 to 2013, had replaced his entire first team to field a bunch of youngsters from the academy in the football league. While this was considered foolhardy by many at that time, the gamble ultimately paid off and his teams went on to win several trophies. This highlights the importance of taking calculated risks at the appropriate time. Furthermore, this tendency to take a chance can also benefit one's personal life. For instance, in a popular TV show, if the lead character did not rush to the airport to confess his love to his romantic interest, they may never have had their happily ever after! While the positives may be inspirational to read, what of the failures? It is seldom acknowledged that taking these gambles may also lead to disproportionate failures. A notable example of this is the colossal failure of the company 'We Work' to achieve its targets when going public. The company's CEO, Adam Neumann, gambled his entire wealth on his ability to talk his way into investments. However, when detailing the company's financial details, analysts all over the world rebuked Mr. Neumann's philosophy which led to a tumbling of its shares and a subsequent bankcruptcy. This must serve as a warning of the dangerous consequences of one's choices. In conclusion, high risk may be associated with high reward. Nevertheless, one must always consider the realistic possibility of failure when making this choice and only plunge if they're feeling really confident.