Fewer young people play sports these days. Why is this? what can be done to encourage more young people to do sports.

In the contemporary era, there has been a downward tendency in the number of youngsters engaging in sports activities. In my perspective, the main reasons are modernization and many social norms. By solving the mentioned problem, I think that educational institutions could play a pivotal role in stimulating more young people to play sports. To begin with, there are many focal points to explain this trend. It is true that the significant development of modernization leads to the growth in the number of new technologies, such as smartphones. This has created a concern that the plethora of young people have been exposed these equipments since their childhood, because of the lack of family attention that their parents are usually absorbed in their work. Therefore, the young could form an entertaining habit that they get addicted to, such as video games rather than participating in sports. Besides, there is a common social norm in many Asian countries such as Korea or China that the parents usually orient their children to be white-collar workers, which could be a social model of success. Thus, these children tend to spend their childhood in school and more extra classes in their leisure time to make sure that they could get into top schools or universities and take more opportunities to belong to prosperous citizen groups of societies. Indeed, it is understandable why exercise and sports are a luxury for busy students. To overcome this issue, I believe that educational institutions are the key factor. Firstly, due to the majority of students owning personal smartphones, schools should put strict regulation that bans them from the educational environment. This could not only enhance students ' focus on lessons, but also give them more playtime to join other healthy activities. Thus, it is necessary for the syllabus to create many optional sports classes or sports clubs such as soccer, volleyball or badminton to encourage students to improve their health and social interaction with friends and teachers rather than keeping their eyes glued to smartphones and leading a sedentary lifestyle. In conclusion, the decrease in young people's interest in sports could be explained by modernization tendencies and social bias in many cultures. Therefore, it is vital to solve this issue through educational institutions such as building learning programs, which have typical sports or clubs.