There was a time when people only shopped out for necessity, but these days shopping seems to have become a new form of leisure activity, people don’t appreciate the value of money anywhere. To what extent do you agree with the view?

There is a significant change in terms of shopping by people. Nowadays, it is more about social class, which was previously to meet the basic needs and requirements of the family members. Importantly, the multi-giant companies have played a huge role by doing aggressive marketing campaign and penetrate to the people. I would partially agree that people forget value of money. This essay will discuss exponential increased external marketing activities by product companies as well as available online shopping option, which had created a social inequality within a society and value of money concept is being analysis independently only. Firstly, the companies have created a brand awareness to the target audience which has impacted directly to the people, there is a shift of mindset to buy a good, branded products over the local available products. To instance, the attire to wear while going to the work, social occasion which has some sort of social status these days, the people spent lot to buy expensive clothes due to society pressure and fail to remember the financially affordability which is one of reason, forgetting concept of value of money. Secondly, there are an online shopping option available to the people and more popular in youngster because they are techno-friendly and new trend for online shopping which is not limited to the household items but all international brands. This online shopping is more of addiction to checking discounted offers and followed with shopping on every weekend. This concept is a reason to the coming generation to failed to remember value of money concept whereas the elderly people are still buying things which are needed or priority to use it and they also can’t adopt online shopping concept due to technology acceptance. For example, D-mart supermarket which provide the discounted prices in compares to local shoppers and this supermarket provides all sort of household product. So, the elderly people have habit of making list of items which need to be purchased and buy those items even though discount offer available which is not needed to use it. To conclude that it is more of self-discipline approach to buy things as per individual financial capacity which validates value for money but it has observed this more in the elderly people whereas young people would like to spent more on lifestyle, influence with online shopping concept, solid marketing concept and social status symbol within their friends group therefore, it is more percentage people are forgetting concept to value money in young generation.