It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In the present time, there is a trend to take a gap year after finishing school, rather than go to the following studies, such as university or college. There are several advantages of taking a period off; for instance, an opportunity to relax or a chance to take time to decide, who you want to be. In contrast, there is a huge problem, like the difficulty of getting into a good university after the year off. As far as I can see, the disadvantages of that outweigh the positive effects. On the one hand, possibilities after graduating from school are enormous, which lead to the desire to use them. Firstly, each student wants to relax, after a stressful period, like senior year. This causes the wish to stop worrying about all studies, and just enjoy yourself, which can be provided by the gap year. Secondly, individuals usually do not know, who they want to be in the future; so, this problem can be solved by taking the year off. They might try various aspects of every corner of their life and gain experience from that, which may help to decide their future jobs. For instance, according to the statistics, around 60% of the students from West European countries use this year for travelling and clearing their minds. However, there are minuses, such as losing focus on studying during free time after school. This thing might never return to the starting point, and it is going to cause massive problems in the following studies, like the impossibility of catching up with all the material, as well as people who started to attend university straight after school. For example, the research, that has been done in my country, shows that individuals, who are applying to university after time off are most likely to not get in. To sum up, there are pros and cons in this situation. Nevertheless, I believe that a gap year is usually a waste of time, however, for some individuals, this is a good chance to structure their lives and make a plan for the future.