Tourism has negative environmental impacts on tourist areas. What are these impacts? How can damaging impacts be lessened?

Nowadays, travelling to a different country is easier than ever before. As a result, tourism has become extremely popular over the years, turning it into a mass activity. However, it is proven that this dynamic causes terrible effects on the environment. This essay will discuss these drawbacks and the ways we are able to diminish harm to nature. First and foremost, tourism promotes a depletion of natural resources. The mobilization of people from one place to another requires an enormous amount of fossil fuel, a non-renewable type of natural resource. In particular, the number of people taking low-cost flights has increased recently, contributing to unsustainable commuting. On top of that, habitat destruction and biodiversity loss is generated by the development of tourist infrastructure. For instance, many beaches in the Caribbean experienced the disappearance of wildlife due to the contamination of the water caused by foreigners during their stay. As it was shown, travelling seems to compile numerous amount of problems for the environment. Hence, strategies for sustainable tourism including ecotourism and responsible travel practices must be executed. One way of doing this is with the implementation of policies to reduce carbon footprint, such as promoting public transportation and renewable energy in tourist areas. Furthermore, the enforcement of regulations to protect natural habitats and cultural heritage sites must be carried out by authorities. For instance, tourists that litter need to be punished with high fines. Taking everything into consideration, mass tourism causes environmental degradation, such as pollution and habitat destruction. This proves that encouraging tourists to engage in environmentally friendly activities and respect local customs and environments can minimize the damage.