There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through examination rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of examination as a form of assessment?

Regarding education system, the form of assessment is the global topic. Among the various form of assessments, examination is one of them and which has both negative and positive sides. Firstly, examination is a classic form to judge a student in some specific parameters. For example, a student gets a fixed curriculum for his or her entire session and starts their classes for learning from the basic. Similarly, the students do the home study for more practice and learning. At the end of their each session, they have to face exams on fixed subjects for marking the scores on performance. Definitely, the system helps the student for justifying his or her performance and also for the educational certififcations certification. Conversely, day by day the examination system shows it's dark sides. Students are targeting the scores only rather than understanding the basic. After getting the scores or certificates, students can not identify their specific skils that they learnt or achieved from their sessions. In contrast, students face enormous chellanges during getting a job for lack of skills. On the other hand, practical skill building, namely C++, python, Data science, cooking, safety, maintenance etc, help the student a lot during his career. Through the whole session, if a student gets continual assessment on their curriculam and skills, that will help the nation to build it's structure precisely. In conclusion, examination system is a necessity but with continual assessment throughout the session will make the student an asset for the counrty.