In the future, nobody will buy printed newspaper or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The current technology has given us so many advantages that make our daily lives easier through its invention or innovation. One of the advancements that humans can benefit from is how almost everything has been digitalized now. It is expected that the digital version of newspapers and books will overtake the role of printed ones. I respectfully agree with the idea since it will give some benefits to society. In the old times, newspapers and books were all written on pieces of parchment before a more developed technology was discovered and allowed publishers to mass print them on paper. Even though it looks like a great innovation, it actually harms the environment. Every day, printed newspapers and books require a certain amount of paper, and for this reason, many trees were cut down in order to meet the demand for paper production. This environmental concern would not be raised if the digital version of books and newspapers were used by everyone. There will be no deforestation and people can get the information in a more simple way. Other than that, reading news or books online seems to be more convenient. The fact that the once-read newspaper or books will only be stacked up in a room is such a waste of space. It will also be more comfortable for everyone to read newspapers or books online when they are in public spaces, such as on trains or at parks since it is easier to hold. That way, they will not need to spread their arms widely to see the page of the newspaper which might disturb others. However, I must disagree with the notion that everyone can read newspapers and books online without the need to pay. If every writing is free, writers will lose their source of income. Therefore, we still need to give some credit to the authors. This concern might be solved by making some content premium where people need to pay a specific amount of money to get full access to the text. That way people will get to choose which one they are willing to pay for, and the authors will not lose their source of income. It is undoubtedly a great innovation to make newspapers and books available online. This digitalization will give some benefits to the readers and also the environment. However, authors need to get benefits from this too. That way, the advantages of this technological advancement will be equal to all parties.