The tendency of news media to focus on problems and emergenciesrather than good news has a negative effect on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To some extend, I do feel that it does have some negative effects for news media to focus more on reporting problems and emergencies to the people. However, I don't feel that it necesarilly has severe impact to the society as a whole. Here are the basis of my opinion. It is true that some people may tend to be more tense, anxious, or nihilistic when consuming negative things from their daily media. For example, seeing or hearing about a school shooting will make anyone more anxious and frightened because it may happen around their neighbourhood. This is of course, a very rational response of fear, as it's our instinct helping us to keep us out of danger. The problem begins when people start to become fixated over the bad things delivered on the news. For example, robbery, natural disasters, and other unfortunate events. As mentioned, it is logical to want to know when and where the dangers can arise and wanting to foresee them. But I believe, many of these unfortunate things that may happen are, to some degree, unforeseeable. For example, you won't know when there will be a public shooting at the mall or when and where an earthquake is going to happen. However, there are things that people can still do to prevent and anticipate these events. We can take pre-caution and learn what to do when these bad things occur. For instance, people need to learn what should they immediately do when natural disaster happens or what should they do and avoid when a number of active shooting is rising. Furthermore, I also believe that it's important to know and recognize the possibility of these occurances. Yes, keeping an eye out is important but it's also unhealthy to be obsessed over the bad things that may happen over the news, as it may cause serious level of anxiety and constant worry. In conclusion, it is beneficial to the society for news media to report crimes, disasters, or other negative topics, as it helps the society to understand the current state of the things that are happening around them. However, the people should also be educated and smart in handling these types of information, as overconsumption may lead to detriments in their mental health. As a society, people need to realize that obsessing over these unforeseeable events are not healthy and that there are actions they can take for prevention and mitigation.