Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the contemporary era, developing of public transport is a very disputable topic because of the global warming. It is claimed that, government have to spend more funds on public transport as well as reducing ticket prices. Undoubtedly, it has many benefits, but it also has some hidden demerits, which I am going to explain further. First and foremost, private cars and diesel engines are the main source of greenhouse gas emissions. Ecological activists argue that, it has to be a main government policy to reduce these emissions. The more common usage of public transport may bring fresh air and solve congestion issues in metropolitan area, like London, New York and Moscow. Furthermore, reducing prices on the public tickets would have an impact on personal decision making, which can lead to a decrease in private car usage. On the other hand, it is widely agreed that, such advances as the best developed public transport may not bring real benefits. Besides, investing funds in this area do not lead to increases in an amount of public transport users due to the factors such as conveniece, comfort and lifestyle preferences. Moreover, decreasing of ticket's price could not change the habits of the car users, because in many countries car ownership is a status symbol. In conclusion, I am inclined to believe that, spending money on public transport has to bring positive outcome in the long-term. Government should not only invest money on transport, but also to explain to people the effects of their policies, especially in affluent groups of citizens.