Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more school work. To what extent do you agree.

The issue of whether children are given too much free time, in my view, is not about the amount of free time they have, but about whether this time can be spent on socially productive activities. Clearly, giving students an excessive amount of spare time after school may cause a series of problems. Young students are at the best stage in their lives to acquire knowledge and skills. If this precious period is occupied with idle activities, they will have to do much more to compete with their peers when they become adults. What can be more disturbing is the possible increase in children's misbehaviour and even offences after school. Some teenagers may linger on the streets instead of staying with their parents or guardians, which makes it very likely for them to be involved in criminal acts. Not only does schoolwork include writing essays and research papers, it may also offer a variety of social activities, such as group discussions or preparation for team presentation, which hone children's cooperative skills. So it seems children should indeed spend more time on their school work. Despite all these considerations, I believe that students should be given enough freedom in deciding how to use their spare day for the fundamental reason that the skill of managing their time is as important as reading books or doing exercises. Specifically, providing students with the right to choose what they do after class will develop their sense of responsibility and build their confidence which is the root of any success. In conclusion, I think students should be given proper guidance about how to use their free time, although this free time not necessarily have to be spent on schoolwork.