The best way to provide road safety is to introduce more serious punishments for drivers. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that harsher punishments are the most effective way to ensure road safety. I disagree with this opinion for two key reasons. One method that can potentially have more impact than introducing serious punishments is providing drivers with regular education. Such training programs allow drivers to constantly update their driving skills. In the majority of countries, the skills of drivers are tested only once before they obtain their driver’s license. Naturally, over time people may slowly lose their ability to operate a vehicle skillfully, which can result in devastating consequences. This can be prevented, if the government provides drivers with training on a regular basis, emphasizing defensive driving and the importance of following traffic laws. Apart from updating the skills of drivers, education should also focus on pedestrians. In some cases, an accident occurs not because of the driver, but the pedestrian because of jaywalking, using mobile phones, and ignoring traffic signs. Another effective approach is to improve infrastructure design. Creating roads with clear markings, proper signage, and smooth surfaces can prevent accidents. For example, roundabouts can reduce the severity of collisions compared to traditional intersections. Moreover, designating safe zones for pedestrians and cyclists can contribute to safer roads because cyclists usually have to share the road with motorized vehicles or with pedestrians, which increases the chances of accidents. A further change to our current road infrastructure, which can improve road safety, is to implement smart traffic signal systems. These systems respond to traffic flow and reduce congestion and the chances of accidents. In conclusion, there are more effective ways to achieve road safety than imposing stricter punishments on drivers, including driver training programs and enhancing road infrastructure.