In many countries today, everyday necessities like food and petrol have become very expensive. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

In this present world, the consumption of food and petrol has become very expensive to fulfil everyday necessities. In my opinion, the primary reasons for these problems are countries failing to produce local products and lack of alternatives. This essay will explain what might caused this situation with relevant examples and what should be done to tackle this problem. Firstly, many countries who could not be independent to produce their own necessities might rely on their supply to other countries. For example, at the end of 2022, the price of Indonesian fertilizers surged when the Russia-Ukraine conflict occurred. This is because Russia stopped exporting their fertilizers to other countries and unfortunately, the majority of Indonesia fertilizer was produced by Russia at that time, which led to the price volatile dramatically. As a consequence, up until now, the fertilizer price in Indonesia remains expensive because Indonesia failed to balance their supply and demand. Secondly, lack of alternatives for certain food and petrol could be another reason why the price become very expensive. For instance, the type of fuel that most Indonesian consume is gasoline, which is not renewable. The production of gasoline keeps on decreasing each day because of the increase in Indonesia's population which could lead to energy scarcity. To suppress its demand, the government imposed a tax to secure the energy source because they did not have any option to substitute gasoline. In my opinion, government legislators should create persuasive regulations to solve this problem. As an illustration, the government could give endowment by creating a competition for young entrepreneurs that have a vision and mission to address the relevance of imported goods. Another suggestion, in terms of protecting energy security, government should amend the regulation of total energy mix, especially for renewable energy, and subsidize their residents who use electric vehicles. In conclusion, the problem why food and petrol price is increasing day by day in many countries, it is because the countries might not be independent in producing their own products and failed to explore food and petrol substitutes. After a thorough analysis of this subject, it is predicted that government regulations play a pivotal role in arousing public awareness such as creating business competition endowments and supporting renewable energy vehicles by giving subsidization to their residents.