Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Despite knowing the repercussions of illegal activities, a proportion of individuals tend to engage in more crimes even after they have been punished for one. The potential causes such as mistreatment and unemployment along with possible solutions, namely, public awareness and training programs will be elaborated in forthcoming paragraphs. The two major causes for offenders committing more crimes than they used to be is a result of the attitudes of society and unemployment arising after being labeled as a criminal by the law. If a person is punished for an offense, majority of the society tries to humiliate and disrespect him rather than helping him to be a better person. This strategy could drive him to commit more crimes as he might lose sympathy and respect towards others. A similar type of situation has happened in three Lanka where a student has stolen all pens in the classroom after getting mistreated by his classmates for mistakenly using his friend's pen. Addressing the second cause, if a person gets punished legally, he could face difficulties in finding a job as many places refuse to hire him due to the black mark on his profile. To illustrate, google checks all its employees’ profiles every year to make sure they are free from the law. Owing to this, some will end up robbing and stealing because lack of money to survive is one of the major causes of such activities. To aid this situation, spreading awareness in the public and having a protocol to help offenders earn some decent money can be considered as practical solutions. The education system and religious places can teach people about accepting people's flaws and supporting them to be better to mitigate the adverse impact on them. Moreover, authorities that impose legal actions against offenders should consider possible solutions to help them earn money, for instance, workshops to train them for household productions and guiding them to start a small business. Providing their approval of the person's favorable behavior could help him find a path for a career in the future. To conclude, society and relevant authorities should undergo some amendments as their activities cause individuals to engage in more crimes. Therefore, solutions such as enlightening people and flexible laws might help tackle this problem.