In today’s world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In modern society, a lot of men and women to look younger spend a lot of money on their appearance. This essay will suggest the reasons behind people paying hefty prices for their physical appearances and how this downward trend impacts our society and people. Everyone appreciates younger-looking skin and slim bodies as they look appealing to the eyes. Across the world, the current norm of society now is to look younger and have a slim body even though initially this trend was in glamorous industries like movies and modelling only. Nowadays, people are forced by societal pressure and they tend to spend their savings on Gym memberships and Diet plans to maintain a body. For example, As per the current survey in the United States, a lot of the younger generation have health club memberships because they want to look good. Furthermore, a certain type of employment requires people to have fresh and young-looking skin to stay in jobs. For instance, a lot of Hollywood movie stars pay huge prices to maintain their skin by doing cosmetic surgeries on their skin because if they look beautiful, their demand will be greater. Therefore, people tend to spend huge money on their external appearance. In my opinion, spending huge money on physical appearances has far more negative implications for society. First, many younger generations under societal pressure are now skipping meals in their pursuit of losing extra body weight and this is causing Bulimia like diseases in young girls. Second, many normal people who do not have enough money to spend on cosmetic surgeries, diet plans or gym memberships are suffering from low self-esteem. For instance, In the USA, many people are suffering from depression because they are overweight or do not have a beautiful smile and flawless skin. Hence, paying hefty costs on one's appearance is a downward trend and people must learn to accept themselves as they are and must be educated. To conclude, there are deep consequences on one's emotional health when people tend to spend their savings on looking good rather people should spend their money on being healthy and self-love should be preached in society.