Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have a risk. Do you think that advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it is believed that people of all ages are highly influenced by social media. Some proponents argue that there is a risk involved in sharing personal details on social media websites. Though there are many advantages of such practice, I believe that it has more disadvantages because of privacy beaches and the spread of information. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits as well as my opinion in detail with relevant examples. On the one hand, the main advantage of providing personal info on such platforms is to connect with the masses belonging to the same demographics such as age, gender,and location. In other words, people can leverage and use information from such websites to find audiences who share the same interests and values. As a result, they can make millions of connections which in turn influences them to be popular in the social circle. For instance, the advertising business gains immense benefits based on the details we share on social platforms. Thus, they develop marketing campaigns to focus on certain age groups. On the other hand, the major disadvantage is that it could cause privacy breaches and the spread of misinformation. That is to say that personal details can be used to misrepresent or create fake profiles in order to get access to their contacts. Furthermore, the details can be manipulated anywhere to hack bank-related information. For example, a recent study shows that Facebook was hacked by cyber threats and the customer database was used to create fake profiles had alarmed everyone in the world. As a result, many people deleted their profiles from Facebook. In conclusion, there are many benefits in sharing personal info on social media websites to create relationships with like-minded people, however, I believe that the drawbacks in terms of risk associated with privacy and misrepresentation of data have become prevalent in this digital age. Hence, in my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.