Every year several languages die out. Some people think this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is said that many languages die out on a yearly basis. While a group of individuals maintains that it cannot be problematic because they believe that the fewer languages, the easier life that people experience, I strongly disagree with this argument due to the reasons that will be discussed. Some people justifiably argue that if governments do not consider efficient preventive measures so as to stop the extinction of endangered languages, we will face several challenges. For example, decreasing language diversity can lead to the extinction of some cultures and customs that have been passed down from our ancestors. Since such values shape people's identities, the absence of these languages can weaken their sense of identity. Moreover, several endangered languages are interesting subjects that are taught at universities in order to reveal historical mysteries. Therefore, without them, researchers will run into serious problems, making it difficult to effectively explore historic ages. In contrast, another group claims that the more languages that are present, the more difficulties tourists and travellers face. They insist that fewer languages offer several benefits. For example, my cousin, who is in favour of this view, thinks that developing a universal language should be taken into consideration because it helps people interact with peers from all around the world. Moreover, he thinks that it can help both the tourism industry and students who are willing to study abroad because language barriers will be reduced and all people can easily communicate with each other. However, I do not find this argument convincing, as each language represents the culture and history of certain people. Therefore, if a language dies out, the values that are associated with it, cultural values, for instance, will be extinct. Thus, all languages are of historical importance and should be preserved. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the extinction of languages, as they are significant in terms of history and culture. Furthermore, they can assist in uncovering historic problems.