It is often said that retirement is the happiest time of a person’s life. How far do you agree with this view?

In many countries the population is aging considerably. This presents the older people with challenges as well as opportunities. It seems to me that retirement, in fact is not the most contented period of life. And I will explain why in this essay. Firstly, retired people have to content with the major issue of health. No matter how optimistic a person is, or how consciously they are trying to keep fit. Their health declines as they grow older/ as they age. This affects their morbidity, their ability to interact with people, and their physical comfort when compared with the earlier stages of life. A second negative factor is the issue of the whole finance. By this we mean that even people who saved or invested a goodly sum carefully will find their income in retirement reduced considerably, for example by relying on their savings. This results in leisure options being more restricted than the younger years even though they have more time to fill. This leads us on to the final and perhaps most significant drawback to retirement, which is isolation. This happens when the declining health and limited sources are increasingly cut-off; even if they have the surviving family members who seek to care for them. Admittedly, much the family may offer the support; this lack of contact will progressively lead to a less contented frame of mind. It is true that there are some positives to retirement, most notably to pursue their personal interests and the presence of grandchildren. Despite this, it seems that for many older people these pleasures are outweighed by the issues which can cause stress or depression. It is sensible to conclude that the problems of health, financial concerns and isolation combine to make retirement a challenging and potentially difficult time for many people.