Many large supermarkets are being built today while the number of small shops is decreasing. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days an increasing number of supermarkets have been built, whereas local shops are becoming less popular to establish. This mainly happens due to a broad range of international and local products that are combined in one place as well as the accessibility that big shops provide. Even though supermarkets are convenient, I truly believe that shutting down small stores has more disadvantages than benefits, and this essay will explain why. To begin, big food stores offer a variety of products including exclusive items from overseas. This gives people an opportunity to explore another culture, and try international food and spices. For example, in Melbourne, Coles and Woolworth shops have international sections with Thai and Japanese food products, along with sauces and spices. Moreover, bigger shops often present competitive prices and reward cards. Hence, this will lead to lower the cost of living for customers. However, these shops do not bring unique features to the city, making it dull and unappealing. Small businesses provide the place a local character, which shapes the atmosphere and the vibe of the city. This means that small shops contribute to a local culture that attracts visitors from other cities and even countries. For instance, Melbourne's north side of the city is well known for its craft shops with handmade candles, cards, jewellery and house decoration. Many visitors are attracted to these places because people can purchase unique items that no one has. Additionally, smaller shops require fewer resources to operate which is more sustainable and better for the environment. In conclusion, even though bigger stores offer a one-stop shopping experience and products discounts, local shops bring the culture to the area, representing creative designers and green policies. Hence, I believe that the small shops need to be promoted, keeping their popularity as well as bigger shops.