Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What possible solutions can you suggest?

Many ex-convicts tend to turn to crime again after being released from prison. I believe that the main causes of this are long sentences and a lack of re-education. The possible solutions might be changing some rules and creating training programmes. A lengthy punishment has a disadvantage in that criminals find it hard to adapt to society after being released. They are conditioned by prison life through time and not accepted by society often. Thus, they contemplate crime to return back to prison again. For instance, a person who has been in prison since 1970 probably could have many obstructions due to unaccustomed changes and would always want to be in prison. Another reason is that culprits receive only punishment rather than rehabilitation and training programmes. While taking criminal behaviour is a mindset into account, they commit a crime as they are not trained and re-educated before re-entering society. Having legislation about a lengthy punishment is a solution to curb further crimes. As people hardly adapt to the world and come across social exclusion after being in prison for more than 30 years, it would be important to have amnesty for those people if they were to learn the rules of society and their responsibilities. For example, in Turkey, there is a law that permanent punishment can be reduced if convicts behave positively. Moreover, training programmes, rehabilitation centres and counselling are possible solutions to alleviate re-offending. The authorities of prisons should designate experts for counselling to teach them to re-socialise. In conclusion, it is a fact that many criminals turn to crime after their impurity is verified. Harsher punishment in terms of year and a lack of counselling are the most prominent causes of this issue; however, having more training, education centres and the arrangements of punishment over laws can bring hope.