Sending people to prison is not effective, and other methods such as community work should be supported instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In the modern era, sending criminals to prison is not beneficial. Others think other strategies such as public work should be encouraged instead of sending individuals to prison. I completely disagree with this idea and in this essay, I will support my opinion with reasons and examples. Firstly, life in jail is far too comfortable for prisoners. For example, many inmates have access to luxuries such as televisions, computers sports facilities, and so on. What I mean by this, spending time behind bars is like being in holiday camp. If prison is going to act as a deterrent then I am serious it needs to be considerably tougher. In other words, why I disagree with prison as a punishment is that a large number of prisoners are not a danger to society take shoplifters as an example. They are often locked up in the same cells as murderers, rapists, and violent criminals. I strongly believe that is a serious problem. What is more, pretty criminals may even learn how to commit more serious crimes when they are inside. On the other hand, there is a huge difference between sending criminals and doing community work. For example, if the government always locks up inmates every day, they can learn everything like killing someone or kidnap something from individuals. To be extended,the inmates should work in streets or restaurants, as a result, they start to earn money or can be addiction. In conclusion, although it is a common belief that prison is the best way to punish criminals, I believe it is too soft and that is not necessary in the major cases. I think prison should be the last option when all else has failed. In my view, the government is more responsible for providing jobs, as well as controlling them more as a result we will reduce criminals.