More and more people prefer to read e–books rather than paper books. What are the reasons for this? What problems can this cause for libraries?

In the modern day, e-books have rapidly grown popular within society. This leads to some readers enjoying e-books more than the traditional ones. The reasons may be due to how easy to access it and there is no need for the space. This trend would make people visit libraries less often. To begin with, electronic literature is on the internet. This gives it an advantage in that it can be accessed from anywhere and at any time. Unlike a physical one, people have to carry it around in order to read it. Moreover, in the digital world, they can perform more annotations such as zoom in, adjust brightness, type numbers to change pages, etc. These benefits outweigh the original ones, hence, why they become more popular among readers. Another aspect is the space to keep them. This literature can take up a ton of areas, which makes the owners sacrifice some of their personal zone. So, readers who intend to keep a lot of books need to have an area available which may affect their personal lives. Furthermore, these volumes also need physical maintenance. If anyone just leaves them on the shelf they might rot or become a mess. On the other hand, electronic books are entirely on the Internet. There is no need to provide a spare area for them and they also don't desire a maintenance check. Lastly, physical literature with time, can be cut or rotten until it becomes unreadable but e-books don't have those matters. This surely creates issues for libraries. There will be fewer individuals at libraries which will leave the volumes inside untouched. Those volumes that nobody notices may get forgotten then they might not get proper treatment. Eventually, they will break faster than they should be. Additionally, by having fewer people come to the library, it might get less budget which will cause problems with various factors such as buying new novels and hiring staff and managers. As a result, the library might shut down entirely. In conclusion, e-books have grown its popularity due to their convenience in access and also no longer need for space. Libraries will face problems like books broken faster, fewer staff members, or in the worst case scenario closing forever.