Information technology has significantly transformed our lives in recent years. In your opinion, what is the greatest benefit of information technology? Consider also the disadvantages that the development of this technology may bring about.

Nowadays, due to the high level of information technology, many aspects of human being has continuously experienced a notable alteration. Many think that’s positive while others have opposite opinion that it’s negative. From my point of view, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, and this essay will discuss both pros and cons of this argument. On the one hand, there are various positive effects of information technology on human daily lives. Firstly, the hugest benefit is that it helps human stay connected. A few decades ago the only way to communicate with persons who were far away was through postal letters, but up to now the invention of phones, Internet and several social platforms made it extremely simple to keep in touch with family members, friends and many other relationships. Secondly, individuals are completely enable to carry out daily activities at anywhere. For instance, the GenZ, who prefer working from home rather than going to work in their offices, are in the habit of ordering clothes and meals with a click, there is more time left to spend with activities that are really useful or pleasant, not on the traffic. Besides phones and internet, robots are also a good example in this case. In japan, for instance, there is aim to create robots that can do the tasks similar to an average human such as: doing household chores, cooking,… and also act in more sophisticated situations as firefighters, astronauts or medical assistants. On the other hand, information technology also brings out several drawbacks. To begin with, it’s a worrying fact that it reduces social interaction and impairs communication skills. In recent years, youngsters’ conversations normally take place through messaging platforms and on social media (Facebook, Messenger, Telegram,) According to surveys, 39% of respondents stated feeling closer to their friends due to social media, while 26% of the sample felt that they had more friends due to social media. The short-term result of this is that communication skills are in decline, the longer-term implications will create wider social trends. Moreover, another negative aspect of information technology is that it lessens physical activities. Nowadays citizens hardly go outside because they are busy playing computer games, watching Netflix, YouTube, chatting with friends on messenger, these habits put individuals at the risk of being overweight and becoming attracted to diseases like diabetes, high blood pressure and heart diseases. All in all, information technology has both upsides and downsides. Considering all the above points, I strongly believe that the benefits of it outweigh its drawbacks