Some people argue that the purpose of zoos is only to entertain people. Do you agree or disagree?

Zoos are primarily used for entertaining individuals, however there is an ongoing debate that zoos are only used to entertain and there is no other significance. I strongly disagree with the statement, and the reasons are as follows. To begin with, there is no doubt that zoos are to entertain people as they have numerous species displayed for the visitors. People around the world come to see these rare birds and animals, their history and their lifestyle. Many of different zoos are equipped with different species which are not found in other zoos, which becomes the attraction point for the visitors to explore the species they have never seen. On the other hand, apart from entertainment, they also provide immense information related to the species and the diversity of wildlife. Additionally, they help to educate children and to provide vital information related to rare species. For example, children only learn about these animals and birds in their books but these zoos help to learn better about them. Watching them in real life makes a remarkable impression and a lifetime memory. Moreover, many environmental issues are arising which is the reason for habitat destruction. Hence, zoos are participating actively in conservation efforts and protecting various species. They are also helping to grow and breed the rare species. For instance, a recent study shows that a few zoos reported in increase of various tiger and other rare species in their zoos. In addition to the effort India brought cheetahs from South Africa recently, which is a special species that was not available in India earlier. To conclude, I would like to assert that, with all the above information it is clear that zoos are multipurpose place to entertain, educate and to protect the various species.