Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that the Government should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Taking care of health is essential to enjoy life to the fullest. Some people argue that individuals are accountable for their well-being, while others claim that it is the government’s responsibility to keep its citizens healthy. In this essay, both these assertions will be discussed. On the one hand, people believe that it is the responsibility of a person to take care of his well-being because of two main reasons. Firstly, as each person’s health is unique/ due to variations in health, each person knows precisely what is beneficial to their health problem. Therefore, they are the ones who decide the food they consume. Another reason is that mental well-being is vital that contributes to a person’s health and can be solely managed through the practice of minimizing obsession with the issue. For example, according to a study, it concluded that a person can overcome stress only when he is determined to stay happy. On the other hand, other individuals think that the government alone has the power to ensure the health of its citizens, and one way to achieve this is by taxing hazardous products. This initiative would not only make unhealthy goods expensive to consume but would also discourage manufacturers from producing them/ deter producers from making products. Secondly, the authorities can completely prohibit the production and selling of some items, which are hazardous to one's fitness/ pose a risk to people ’s physical well-being. For instance, smoking is injurious to health, which is clearly mentioned on tobacco products, in spite of such warnings, people smoke cigarettes because it is easily available on shelves. The Government can ban such products from selling in markets, this step will make sure that people are unable to buy those products and stay fit. In conclusion, people can maintain their own fitness by consciously selecting new nutritious and appropriate diets, while also fostering emotional well-being by avoiding pressures. However, governments can implement measures aimed at promoting the health of their habitants, including levying taxes and imposing a ban on productions/prohibiting the main new manufacturing, and sells of detrimental products.