Art and music are considered some of the fundamental elements of all the societies. Do you think art and music still have a place in today's modern world of technology? Should children spend more time learning art and music at school?

Music and Art are often considered to be the fundamental core of societies across the globe. With the advancement of technology and the fast way in which the world is developing, there is an even bigger need to preserve the arts. The world as we know it today is rapidly evolving and ever changing thanks to the contribution of modern day advancements in technology. Therefore, it is paramount that we encourage equal opportunities for both artistic hobbies as well as modern machinery. Firstly, such past times enrich one’s mind and broaden the ability to understand other cultures, societies and people. Furthermore, it allows us to explore diversity and engage in activities that are not part of our daily routine. Secondly, the majority of artistic creations and musical masterpieces are interlinked with that nation’s history. This means that indulging in such leisure’s inevitably increases one's knowledge about the history and conservation of a nation. I believe that learning institutions, such as schools would benefit greatly if there was equal time devoted to both hobbies. Focusing on subjects other than maths and science allows for the development of passions and stirs up creativity in the minds of children. In addition to this, creative subjects can provide a much needed distraction and break up the schedule of a tiring school day. Moreover, several studies have shown that playing a form of a song or melody in the background can facilitate active recall and increase attention span, which is of great need when preparing for important exams. To conclude, although newly created equipment is a precedent in our world today, we should still make time and encourage passions like music and the arts.