Nowadays, some older people choose to live in the retirement communities with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

Retirement homes have become prominent in today's world. After a certain period, a group of people retire from work and live with strangers of similar age rather than living with their children. I strongly believe that this development has a negative outcome on one's life. To begin with, older generations in a family are considered to be a responsibility as they may not be able to do day-to-day tasks on their own. As a result, their children either force them or convince them to live in aged care. This distance from their families, however, creates loneliness or depression among the ageing individuals because they wish to cherish the little achievements of their children and grandchildren but are deprived of them. Although they are looked after by professional helpers, senior citizens miss the love they could receive from their family, as a result, affects their mental health. So these life care homes have a negative output on aged people's well-being. Apart from this aspect, the other reason why aged care homes do not have a positive impact is security. Especially with rapid growth in digitalisation, it is hard for the older generation to keep up with the technology, therefore, staying away from their family, they would rely on aged care workers to make transactions or monitor finances. This can lead to misuse of personal information or even being robbed unknowingly. For instance, there was news about an aged care worker debiting thousands of dollars from an old couple for several years, and later she was reported by their families to police. Thus, it is not safe for our older members of families to live by themselves in the life care accommodations. To conclude, I firmly think, the development of after-retirement homes has a negative outcome in our lives. It creates distance from loved ones which affects one's mental health, and also, allows strangers to take hold of their money management.