Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advanatges of this outweigh the disadvanatages?

Currently, several authorities consider that children should commence learning an alien language at primary schools in lieu of their secondary counterparts. From the writer's perspective, the benefits of early getting better study environments and being culturally aware far outweigh the drawbacks of language disorder. To begin with, approaching a second language at primary schools helps students to enter high-quality education. It must be recognized that if the students have the ability to use 2 languages, especially obtaining particular language certificates, they can gain more study opportunities such as studying overseas. Take China as an example here, where 30% of grade-1 students had 75% scholarships to study in the UK's primary schools because they got a band 7.0 in IELTS tests. Furthermore, another positive impact of learning an alien language early is fostering cultural awareness and sensitivity from a young age. To be more specific, through many lessons about a foreign language, the students can achieve more useful knowledge such as the differences in the customs and beliefs of others. As a result, exploring and educating with different cultures helps individuals to strengthen themselves and acquire more valuable experience. For instance, 2700 primary pupils in Indonesia were taught about the industry in the UK which give them various implications about European business. However, some people believe that learning a foreign language at an early age is suffering disorder in language. In other words, because children at the age of 6 to 12 are also in the period of learning their mother tongue fully, individuals easily make mistakes in differing 2 diverse languages. For example, in 2020, The New York Times showed that 75% of Vietnamese students who approached English in grade 4 could not speak their first language clearly as well as fluently. In conclusion, the disadvantage of having a language disorder is outweighed by the advantages of receiving more adequate schooling along with enhancing cultural consciousness. Hence, starting learning a foreign language at secondary school can be more beneficial for children in their educational period.