Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that monetary assistance from rich societies has not brought benefits to undeveloped countries in terms of coping with poverty to some extent. I concur with the statement that wealthy governments should take various kinds of support which could be more effective and radical when assisting poor nations. On the one hand, there are several compelling reasons why financial aid fails to assist undeveloped countries in improving their citizen’s quality of life. First and foremost, money support is only perceived as a temporary solution so it is hard for them to address thoroughly difficult issues that the poorer countries are facing. For example, donating a great deal of money could not help people living in impoverished regions all over the world overcome starvation in the long term. Another reason is that monetary support could make poor countries become over-reliant on the wealthy nations. As a result, these countries could not create new and effective strategies which could enhance their socio-economic status in the future. On the other hand, there are more beneficial methods to aid poor countries rather than financial assistance. Firstly, experts from various fields, such as the economy, education and environment of the rich countries could be sent to the deprived areas in order to provide deep training courses for residents there. This could lead to the improvement of agricultural techniques or the development of the educational system, all of which could have a great contribution to the higher living standards of citizens. Another effective method is that the developed nations could give support by signing commercial contracts with the undeveloped countries in different sectors. This would make sure that the impoverished regions could have more opportunities to develop and compete in the international market, creating more jobs with decent and stable income for all citizens, thus reducing the poverty rate in these areas in the long run. In conclusion, all things considered, I strongly believe that to help poor countries overcome poverty in the long term, rich countries could apply various measures like technical assistance or creating opportunities for economic development instead of only assisting financial support.