Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Over the past few years, there has been a growing trend towards self-employment, involving individuals opting to work for themselves rather than for enterprises. This essay aims to analyze the primary causes, as well as examine several negative impacts of this noticeable tendency. To commence with, there are some valid reasons why more and more people decide to become self-employed. Firstly, this matter can be attributed to people's desire for greater, autonomy and control over their jobs. Having their own business typically allows people with more flexibility and ability pursue their own ambitions rather than working in the corporate environment. To illustrate, many freelancers are attracted by the chance of selecting their workplaces and working hours which suits their lifestyles. This, in turn, enables them to manage their career and other significant commitments, including family and personal interests, contributing to the achievement of work-life balance. Another rationale behind this trend is the potential to gain better income compared to a tradition job. Instead of being reliant on their position's salary cap in the organization, the self-employed are likely to increase their income since it directly depends on their efficiency at work. However, this trend has undeniably brought several disadvantages that should be taken into consideration. One of the most considerable implications is the lack of financial security and other company sponsored benefits, such as paid vacations and health insurance. In fact, their income is dependent on current market situations, which is highly challenging for those who are seeking financial stability. Additionally, self-employment often requires excessive workload and long working hours since the self-employed have to take responsibility for their whole working procedure, from accounting to managing expenses to approaching clients. Therefore,they are likely to crack under pressure, which adversely affects their overal well-being and job satisfaction. In conclusion, although being self-employed has some certain benefits, there are some drawbacks, regarding job insecurity and greater stress that should be considered carefully