Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other. Others argue that people have become more independent. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Modernisation has changed our world completely, especially after the digital revolution. Some people assert that dependency has increased, while others believe that people are more independent of each other in the modern world. I firmly believe that living on your own has become the new normal in the advanced society. On one hand, as the cost of living has risen dramatically, adults are mostly full-time workers to meet the demands. Because of this, they rely on other people by outsourcing maintenance work such as cleaning, gardening, and other required services for their homes. In terms of upbringing children, families are dependent on grandparents, or nanny services as they cannot afford to work part-time to spend time with their children; it does not aid in a good standard of living. As a result, it is argued that individuals are reliant on others even though the world is becoming modern and fast-paced. On the other hand, I strongly think that the current situation of community has made mankind self-dependent. With the rapid technology change, especially, one can do their tasks on their own. For instance, an individual has the ability to lodge their taxes, pay their bills or even navigate their ways using the internet connection which in the old days was not feasible. In addition to that, in terms of social engagement, a person spends alone time with their phone on social media rather than having face-to-face conversations. Moreover, the youngers prefer watching movies on their own in their room rather than going out with their families or friends. These reasons, therefore, illustrate that in this modern environment, we are self-sufficient. To conclude, although valid concerns are supporting that we are reliant on others in the modern world. In my opinion, human beings are developing different technologies that can make us self-content and detached from others.