Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that to achieve global prestige in sporting events, some parts of the world are only concentrating on the construction of specific premises to upskill elite athletes in lieu of offering sports facilities for public use. Although this policy can bring about benefits for these nations, I believe that this has more disadvantageous influences than positive impacts. On the one hand, advocates suppose that institutions specialized in training outstanding sportspeople would help their countries compete against opponents in the sporting industry. One reason is that these facilities would provide vigorous training programs with essential skills by experts for professional athletes, enabling them to maximize their potential. As a result, they can give optimal performances in global competitions and have a higher possibility of achieving awards and success in sports, making great contributions to national achievement in this field. In addition, building facilities that provide services to all citizens would cost a great deal of budget from governments. This could place an enormous amount of pressure on national and local authorities when they have to come up with new strategies constantly to invest money for other pressing problems, such as the environment, education, and healthcare. On the one hand, despite the arguments mentioned above, I firmly believe that this development could lead to more detrimental effects on society. First and foremost, if governments do not establish physical facilities for all people, residents of these countries will not have a place to exercise regularly, which potentially encourages a sedentary lifestyle in the community and weakens citizens’ well-being. Therefore; governments have to cope with increasing serious health problems, especially obesity in children and heart attack in the elderly. Besides that, authorities could lose a source of tax revenue derived from these facilities if they restrict the construction of specialized institutions. This would negatively impact the economic development of the countries in the long run. In conclusion, all things considered, it seems to me that building specialized facilities for professional athletes is not a good policy for the development of countries in a holistic way.