When it comes to language education, there are differing opinions. Some believe that small class sizes are ideal for language learning, while others contend that the number of students does not impact the learning experience significantly. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There exists a debate about whether the size of classes will have a significant impact on language learning. Some people harbour a belief that small class sizes are better for students, whilst others hold the reverse viewpoint that the number of students will not affect students’ learning. Since teachers are able to have more time to assist learners in small classes. I am inclined to stand with the statement. A discussion of this issue as well as my thoughts will be highlighted in the write-up. Initially, one of the main arguments in its favour is that teachers can take care of each student optimally when they have sufficient time to understand students’ requirements. The more attention teachers pay to students, the more pressure and support they will receive. It will not only motivate pupils to concentrate on learning but also provide them with opportunities to practice and improve their skills. Especially in speaking and writing training, the two tasks require interactions and feedback, otherwise, pupils will be unable to realize their mistakes. According to the aforementioned, small classes indeed have positive effects on language education. At the other end of the spectrum, individuals should be primarily responsible for their learning which means it is not the size of classes but personal attitude that matters. When someone is passionate about learning languages, he/she will seize every possibility to strengthen abilities. As there are numerous resources which are easy to acquire nowadays, learning is not restricted to classrooms. Thus, individual motivation is the most important factor which influences their learning experiences and results. To sum up, despite the fact that learners’ passion towards language training plays an indispensable role in learning, the merits of teachers’ assistance in classrooms cannot be ignored. Therefore, small classes really offer learners preferable learning circumstances.