Due to low- cost airlines, many more people can travel abroad than ever before. do the advantages that tourists bring to the countries they visit outweigh the disadvantages?

In the past, travel abroad was a difficult thing, only certainty people did this journey. Nowadays, more and more people are travelling overseas due to the affordability of airlines. Despite the fact that the presence of tourists can contribute to a detrimental effect on local tourism, I believe that many visitors from other countries can promote better economic sectors. Those who focus on the drawbacks of tourism tend to worry about the damage of numerous tourist destinations created by visitors. For example, coral reefs in many countries, such as Australia and Vietnam, are often damaged by tourists during their scuba diving or snorkelling. This will impact the life of many magnificent creatures under the sea which rely on the growth of coral reefs. Furthermore, ancient historical treasures such as the stupa in Borobudur temple, are being worn down by tourists. Hence, the more visitors visit tourist destinations, the more destruction will be gained by the countries. However, I would argue that there are powerful benefits to a country having a strong tourism industry and that not only do these benefits outweigh the disadvantages but also, the aforementioned problems are relatively easy to solve. Firstly tourists provide jobs for local people. As millions of visitors flood into tourist attractions, locals are employed in droves by restaurants, hotels and retail services, and transport and security companies. Opportunities are also created for locals to set up their own small businesses. Moreover, locals can be employed as tour guides to manage and educate the tourists to prevent them from causing damage. The more tourists that come, the more jobs that can be created. Secondly, tourism can have a huge impact on a country’s economy in general. Tourists spend a lot of money on travel, accommodation, food, entertainment and so on. Many countries in this world rely on tourism to boost their economies in this manner. In conclusion, while it is indisputable that the existence of tourists can cause a lot of damage in many local tourist destinations, I believe that because of creates jobs for local people and boosts the country’s economy, the advantages of tourism outweigh the disadvantages.