Humans are basically selfish. Write an essay about 300 words to state that whether you agree or disagree. Provide examples and illustrations to support your viewpoint.

Being selfless is an important virtue of humankind, but the question remains: Do such values still exist in today’s world? Clearly, this topic is a matter of controversy and warrants our attention. I completely agree that people give more emphasize to their interests. This essay discusses the reasons and elaborates why people are becoming more selfish The main rationale behind why an idea of individualism is prevalent across many societies based on the fact that schools are teaching less about social values. Due to increased competitiveness and explosive population growth, there is an imbalance between the available workforce and the availability of jobs. This has resulted in the educational system to focus more on preparing students for employment rather than teaching social skills, which is inconducive to cultivating collaboration, empathy and a sense of community among the people. For example, in my city, many schools have replaced the extracurricular periods at schools with main subjects in order to facilitate preparations for competitive exams, such as entrance tests for engineering and medical science. A fast paced and stressful life is another factor why people think only about themselves. Given the fact that the cost of living has grown massively over the past few decades, individuals are exerting more effort at work, such as working overtime at workplaces, pursuing multiple jobs, and so on. Consequently, this leaves them with an inadequate time to forge deeper and meaningful relationships with their loved ones. As well this, the arguments and conflicts occur more often among family members and friends due to their irritability caused by work stress. This, in turn, prompts a person to think more about their self-interests and mental health than to contribute towards the society. In conclusion, I support the idea that contemporary men and women place think more of themselves. This is because our primary and secondary educational system prioritizes employability over teaching moral and ethical values, and also people are less relaxed and more busy, encouraging them to focus on their mental well-being.