Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

The investment in training professional athletes are worshipped by some people for a country to outshine others in international sports, in addition to building facilities for general people to do exercise. In my perspective, whilst providing environments for individuals to practice sports could enhance public health, there are more advantages derived from cultivating professional sports players. On the one hand, residents could benefit from public sports facilities, such as tennis playground or swimming pools, to keep regular exercises habits and maintain healthy condition, physically and mentally. Some people believe it is the obligation of governments to provoke the dercremental of population who have diseases associated with the lack of exercise, including obesity, diabetes, and other cardiovascular diseases. For instance, swimming is considered as a good cardio exercies exercises, in Singapore, there are many national sports center equipped with swimming pools cost only a small amount of money, it is to encourage local individuals to have regular exercise habits. On the other hand, I tend to agree with the proponents who suggest that it is a positive development for governments spend money on cultivating professional sports players to achieve in global sports events. First of all, it could enhance the visibility of a nation in the world, such as Olympic and FIFA, attracting more overseas tourists, which could contribute to local economic. Secondly, individuals are able to receive sufficient financial aid and resources to concentrate on the acquisition of capacities in professional sports fields without worry about the costs of training. Take gymnistic gymnastic as an example, it takes a long time and good environment to train a top athletes, without the help from authorities, many young people would have to give up their dream. To summarise, instead of providing sports centers for normal people to maintain health condition, I am in favour of the ideals that governments should pay more attention on training top athletes who have outstanding performance in international games.